Stiring Yeast or Not

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cannew

Reaction score
I just started my second kit (Winexpert Island Mist Peach Apricot Chardonnay) and the instructions states specifically not to stir once the yeast is added.

Instructions on my first kit (Onyx Cabernet Sauvignon) says to stir after adding yeast and stir twice a day for the 5 day period.

We have followed the instruction for both, but wonder why there would be a difference?

I just started my second kit (Winexpert Island Mist Peach Apricot Chardonnay) and the instructions states specifically not to stir once the yeast is added.

Instructions on my first kit (Onyx Cabernet Sauvignon) says to stir after adding yeast and stir twice a day for the 5 day period.

We have followed the instruction for both, but wonder why there would be a difference?

Total newbie here and in the last few days I have read a ton of recipes and instructions ....seems like the best is to go with whatever that particular lable says...just my opinion. Mixture of science and art at best. I am hooked :)

I thought you were supposed to stir to get the yeast some oxygen? I stir all my kits so far with no problems. I also check the SG everyday too so I can see what's going on.

Cannew, check your instructions. I have seen some that say not to stir the yeast when you first pitch it but that is not necessarliy to say not to stir it after fermentation starts. I feel it is a good practice to stir the yeast daily in primary fermentation. What this does is to get the "yeasties" that have settled snugly on the bottom of your fermenter and are no longer contributing, back into the ball game.