Should I buy a french oak barrel?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been making wine for several years now and thought about investing in a 5 gallon oak barrel. The more that I read about oak aging, the more I am not sure about the investment. I have read that you need to keep the temp around 55 deg and humidity around 70%. I don't have the ability to keep the temp that low and humidity that high. Would it even be worth using this method? Thanks.

I have two six-gallon Hungarian oak (Vadai) barrels, with which I would not part.
To me, they make a tremendous difference in the final wine, especially for kit wines.

I have never worried about the temperature or the humidity (maybe I should...). They just tend to do their thing, week after week.

There are lots of other sources for oak, so I use barrels less for oaking the wine and more for micro-oxygenation and concentration. The more they concentrate a kit wine, which tends to be thin anyway, the better I like it.

It comes down to personal preference. I have several friends who think barrels are a total waste, but they make some very good wine.

I would say, buy one barrel (~ $150) and try it out.

I prefer to just use French oak spirals. Nothing against small barrels and I know several folks on here rave about them. It's just less maintenance and more money for me to spend on other equipment.

I would not mess with anything less than 6 gallons. Just too small and too hard to seal and keep from leaking.

There is no comparison between a wine that has been through a barrel and one that has lived its life in a glass jar even with an oak spiral. Its the micro oxidation and concentration that makes all the difference.

For me, the purchase of a barrel depends on my situation.