RJ Spagnols RJS Dashwood New Zealand Pinot Noir

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

admiral

Reaction score
Well, in Louisville today we have snow. (About 6 inches on top of 2 inches from the weekend.) (See pictures below.) What to do, what to do?
smiley38.gif
I know, I'll make wine!! How about a RJS Dashwood New Zealand Pinot Noir? Great! I was excited! So excited that I didn't put the bentonite into the mixture until after I added the juice to the warm water. Never fear, I added it and then stirred like crazy and got it all mixed in. I then added the Hungarian Oak cubes that come with this kit and then took my initial SG which was 1.096. If this ferments to dry at SG .996 then I will have a Pinot Noir with an ABV of 13.2%.

I then added the grape skins that come with this kit. I have never used this type of additive before. It looked a awful lot like course sawdust. I decided to not put it in a bag and to go for greater extraction by putting it directly into the must. When moistened, it had a great aroma. I stirred like crazy but this stuff adheres to everything. When I pulled my spoon out of the must, it looked like a fuzzy snake. Oh well. Finally I pitched the yeast on top of the moistened skins and put the lid on. I am looking forward to seeing how this one works out.
20100209_165326_P1010287_Small.JPG

20100209_165900_P1010283_Small.JPG

&lt; ="Content-" content="text/; charset=utf-8"&gt;&lt; name="ProgId" content="Word."&gt;&lt; name="Generator" content="Microsoft Word 11"&gt;&lt; name="Originator" content="Microsoft Word 11"&gt;file:///C:\DOCUME~1\JIMSTA~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtml1\01\clip_filelist.xml<a href="file:///C:%5CDOCUME%7E1%5CJIMSTA%7E1%5CLOCALS%7E1%5CTemp%5Cmsohtml1%5C01%5Cclip_editdata.mso" target="_blank"><!--[if !mso]>
<>
v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}