Quick drinker?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chiumanfu

DIY Vintner
Reaction score
I'm still somewhat new to the scene but I've been bitten by the bug hard.

I have 3 batches ageing right now.

Winekitz Ultimate Estate Reserve Chile Vieux Chateau du Roi - 4 months
RJ Spagnols En Primeur Italian Pinot Grigio - 1 month
RJ Spagnols Winery Series California Cabernet Sauvignon - just out of primary

I'd like to let these kits age as they so deserve but I'm also anxious to taste the fruits of my labour. I have one more carboy to fill and was hoping for suggestions on a good, quick to drink red. I'd like to stay with RJS as I get their kits for really cheap (gotta love living 15 minutes away from their outlet here in Vancouver).

Thanks in advance for all your suggestions... and for all the great info on this forum. I don't know where I'd be without you guys!

I would let the reds age at least a year, the whites about 6 months or so. If you want something you can drink right away and is great for the summer, try making a batch of Skeeter Pee! :-D

www.skeeterpee.com

Chiumanfu:

One of the Grand Cru kits without grape skins might fill the bill. I heard some pretty good things about the Grand Cru International BC Pinot Noir back in 2007, and I know those folks were drinking the wine pretty young. If it was me, I'd make the kit as an 8-10 week kit (5-6 weeks if you're going to filter it), bottle it, and then let it sit in bottle for 4 or 5 weeks before drinking. Hide a case for a year, just to see how it is,

Steve