Questions Regarding training systems.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone. My name is Chris. Been an organic farmer for the last 25 years, and over the last 6 years got into grape growing. Prior to this year, our grape vines were always just a grape vine growing on a fence, and let to grow free. 4 years ago I started studying the different training systems used for grape vines, and which species required which training systems. So, this year I purchased wine grape varieties for the first time, having only worked with concord grape vines in the past. I ordered a total of 13 vines, 1 from each of the species I wanted. A grafted Cabernet Sauvignon, a grafted gewurztraminer, a Marechal Froch, Frontanac, frontenac gris, frontenac Blanc, La Crosse, Fredonia, baco noir, mars, marquis, osceola muscat, and NY muscat, as well as the Concord, Niagara, Himrod, and reliance I had growing in previous years. The white niagara died last winter. Not sure how since It was a mild winter, but, it never came back this year which was disappointing. Loved that vine. But, in previous years we really never maintained it.
Now, here is the reason I am here. I built a number of training systems for these vines, and they have been growing for the last month. I have an 8' top wire, a 16 foot top wire, a 24' top wire, 2 18' top wires, 1 mid wire cordon, 1 4 arm kniffen, an 18' Vertical Shoot Position trellis with 5 sets of catch wires going up 7', and an 18' modified munson system. I built these based off the suggested "best training system to be used for the grape" coming from Double A Vineyards which is where the vines came from. The part that is still confusing to me is which of these training practices are most productive: