Primary too fast, and other simple questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Impiryo

Junior
Reaction score
I'm still a beginner to wine making - done a lot of reading, have my third batch in the primary now. First two were red kits, now I'm doing a hard cider.

My ambient temperature stays between 71 and 76. Everywhere I read describes fermentation going fast in the primary, slowing down, and running a week or two in the secondary. Recipies talk about timing how long between bubbles, and watching it slow down. I've never seen this - The primary starts in a day or two, then ferments fast till dry. SG goes down by a pretty reliable .01 to .02 per day, and if I measure a SG of 1.010, the wine is fermenting hard, and it'll be bone dry in 24 hours. Is this normal?

This concerns me. I don't want to run the primary till dry - I want some CO2 coming out in the secondary to flush out the oxygen. I'm also afraid to go to secondary too soon - even at 1.01, there's a solid bit of foam.

My cider was 1.02 as of 2 hours ago - I'm tempted to rack it late tonight to secondary, leaving more headspace than normal, and running a second, small secondary to top off with in a few days. Otherwise, is there anything wrong with skipping secondary? If the wine is dry soon, can I just go straight to degassing, maybe even in the primary bucked, and top off (obviously only if I see a SG of .995ish)? My primary has the option of sealing with an airlock (and a LOT of air space), but at least I can ensure no new air gets in during that last day or 2.

EDIT: degassing in the primary seems like a bad idea, too much oxygen. Scratch that - I'd rack most to a carboy, degass, rack the rest to a bottle, degass that, then top off with it.