Peculiar film on top of melomel (and trying to fix the haze)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have a blackberry and black cherry melomel that I started brewing in back in early August. Recently during my checks I've noticed a thin, seemingly crystalline, iridescent film on the surface that is strong enough to pin some bubbles beneath it. I've been trying to identify it to make sure it's not a problem or hazard that needs to be solved, but have had unsatisfactory results. My first guess is that it's a sugar film, similar to that which forms on the top of a syrup as it cools. I didn't use a sugar syrup for this though, only honey - although I'd assume there must be other mechanisms by which it could form off sugars in the honey. Also, the films on syrup I've seen are not as iridescent. My second guess would be contamination from acetic acid bacteria, which is a stretch as it isn't glossy and oily, but rather solid and crinkly. Plus the the carboy has been sealed and the headspace filled with off gas since racking.