New to the Forum

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drainsurgeon

Reaction score
Hi, I just joined the forum and should have joined one long ago. I'm 60 and live in northern MN. I've been brewing for about 7 years with kits. The wine is delicious and the kits are fool proof. My kids (all in their 30's) absolutely love home made wine! I've got 3 carboys on the kitchen island right now!

I'm to the point where I would like to start experimenting a little bit. I don't think I can make wine from grapes or concentrate because I spend 5 months a year in Mesa AZ. I've been told making wine from scratch takes about a year and being gone probably wouldn't work. I have a friend that got started brewing about 4 years ago, but he just buys cheap kits (island mist) and adds about 4# of sugar to each batch. It defiantly kicks up the alcohol content, but makes them SUPER sweet and almost syrupy.

Any suggestions? Also I can't seem to find out when is the best time to move wine into cold storage after bottling? Looking forward to being part of the forum.

Jon