New to forum

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bineandvine

Junior
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm new to wine making, I was really into beer(I work for a beer company and am well versed in sanitation, yeast etc) but wine sounds a lot funnier to make! I dove right in and I'm three weeks into my first batch, strawberry apricot. I used about 5 lbs of strawberries, two pounds of apricots and about 9 lbs of sugar. I pitched with champagne yeast. Two weeks ago I racked it off the lees into a clean carboy and fitted with an airlock. It's still going pretty strong about 1 bubble every 10-15 seconds. Now today it seemed as if it was speeding up, there was a lot more bubbles and activity in the carboy. Big question, has anyone used champagne yeast and is 3-4 weeks of fermentation normal or am I dealing with an infection? Any help would be appreciated.

Welcome to the hobby and the forum!

Do you have a hydrometer? That is the only way to know if it is still fermenting. If done, your hydrometer should read 0.990 or similar.

There's no infection.

Most likely the bubbles are gas, which you can remove by stirring or by letting the wine sit for several months.

Welcome to the forum. You don't mention what size batch you are making. Going by the fruit, I would guess a gallon or two, but the sugar says maybe 5 or 6. The point of the hydrometer is spot on. Without it you have no idea of the beginning specific gravity or where you are at for sure. Can you make wine without one? Yes. Can you make good wine more reliably with one? Yes.

If you are making a 5/6 gallon batch consider bumping up the amount of fruit next time.