Need some advice on what to do

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brigitte

Reaction score
Hi. Sure hope someone can give me some sage advice.
I picked my Edelweiss grapes today and have the following numbers
Brix 14.5
pH 7.1
TA 4.3 g/l

I am very new at this. I think I should have harvested grapes sooner but just got my meters in today to test TA and pH and Brix. And the birds found my grapes this morning so I harvested and have them on skins still in clusters chilling in fridge.

I got the sample by crushing a few grapes taken off a variety of clusters.

My questions are is the pH too alkaline to attempt wine?
Is the TA too far off? I read in vines to wine book that I would need an exceptionally high amount of K-meta to kill off unwanted yeast , etc with a pH so high (alkaline)

I realize I will need to add sugar and tartaric acid. But can I make a wine with these grapes ?
Does anyone have any advice ?
Thanks so much.

Acidity can be adjusted as can the Brix - BUT not having made wine from grapes I cannot tell you if that is far far off from normal or just a bit off.
Once you have all the grapes ready and sugar added then you can get a better acidity test. You should be using K-meta anyway and I don't believe you have to change the dosage for a high pH number - that has to be adjusted anyway and once you do, the normal K-meta amount will do the job.

The sugar content (Brix is too low to make a wine that will really keep at all - right now you are looking at a 7.9% ABV and most folks aim at 11-12% BUT you can add sugar OR grape juice concentrate although the juice will affect the final flavor.

That's all I can add for you - I'm sure someone will help you with more infor shortly.

OK,

so..

Brix 14.5
pH 7.1
TA 4.3 g/l (I assume you mean .43 gpl?)

Here is what I would do...