WineXpert LE2013 tasting Saturday. Any questions you want answered?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

waygorked

Reaction score
My local brew shop is hosting a preview tasting this weekend of all the Winexpert LE 2013 kits. I'm new to this whole process, and really know nothing of the event. I suspect that Winexpert is shipping a few young bottles around to various stores, hopefully with a representative. I plan to pump them for as much info as possible. If there is anything y'all would like me to find out about any of these kits, speak now, or forever hold your peace.

Personally I am extremely excited about the Oregon Pinot kit. I know virtually nothing about making wine, and just put my first kit into clearing. However, I live in the Willamette valley, and am one of those obnoxious Oregon wine geeks that will trap you in a corner at a party and rant for hours on the strengths and weaknesses of Jory vs Willakenzie soil. I plan learn the source of the grapes, as there are 7 different AVAs that fall within the Willamette Valley, all with very different characters. If nothing else, I should be able to suggest a commercially available pinot as a good representation of this kit.

FWIW, 2012 was an absolutely spectacular year for Oregon, with the word in the valley being that if you can't make a legendary wine with 2012 grapes, you should find another career. Those same sources appear to be even more excited about the 2013 crush. With any luck, the WE kit may just turn out to be a can't-miss-box-of-awesome.

Yes, I am definitely interested in your report! I don't have a specific question -- I think you have a better handle on that than I do. Looking forward to hearing your comments, as I am planning to order that kit for my beloved bride.