Juice extraction suggestion any replay will do!!!!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

juventude

Reaction score
I have read about several methods to extract the juice from fruit, soaking, boiling steaming, pressing, etc…

My question is which of these will give the best result?

And I don’t have a press and still thinking that I’m still a newbie and don’t want to invest in one until I’m quite sure that I will actually proceed with this hobby, do you have any suggestions how can I assemble a press in the DIY method :)

thanks for any help …

images
sure you have two presses :)

freezing them first seems to break them down and extrat more juice - even if you have to hand squeeze it

Which method is best depends on the fruit. That's one reason there are so many methods!

I froze my home grown strawberries let them thaw and pressed them by hand it wasn't hard but it was rewarding knowing
I grew them.;)

I am leery of any post asking for "best" results. No such thing. Only "different" results.

If you are not wanting to invest in equipment, then IMHO freeze your fruit and use 5-gallon paint strainers available at Lowe's or Home Depot for a bag. Wash the strainers and sanitize them before use.

Thaw your fruit and add pectic enzyme, then pour your thawed fruit and juices through the bag. Tie the top of the bag with a sanitized string or a piece of sanitized fishing line, squeeze lightly to release juices, and leave it in your primary bucket with your must. Add k meta or Campden per recipe and let it all sit a day, then proceed with your recipe.

Stir daily and squeeze the bag lightly to release more juices.