It's Time To Buy a Crusher/Destemmer - Suggestions?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MSLISAJ

Junior
Reaction score
I have been making wine now for 15 years and over that time I have purchased all the necessary equipment one piece at a time. I used to buy my grapes from a vineyard and they would crush the grapes I picked when I was leaving. But now I have 10 of my own vines and am now producing more grapes and the last piece of equipment I need is a "crusher/destemmer" as I really can't bother my local winery anymore to do the job for me; they have been very kind.
My yearly grape production will average between 80 and 200 pounds of grapes. I am looking at a hand powered machine that will cost about $500. This will be the single biggest investment I have made in this hobby. So I am asking for suggestions or recommendations of a good machine and where to get it. I have found a supply story about 100 miles from me that has what I am looking for but there really isn't any choice. So before I make the investment I wanted to ask others for opinions on what to get and what NOT to get.

Thanks so much for your time and thoughts on my question.

Lisa
Klamath Falls, Oregon

Start looking around on Craigslist for a used one. Check your LHBS for used ones, if you can put up a wanted add their do it now. You can pick up a brand spanking new manual one for ~$350 plus shipping. Since your on the west coast the closest big wine supplier is probably More Wine

Most of the smaller models like you looked at are all about the same and come from Italy. I assume you are looking at painted models. Stainless cost a lot more. Buying local is a good idea as you can get a look at it before buying and there is no shipping expense which can get costly.