Input requested about Montepulciano

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArdenS

Reaction score
I'm a newbie, having only done one each of Amarone & Castel del Papa. I'm toying with the idea of doing a Montepulciano. I see that George has two MM kits, Original Alljuice and Renaissance. Has anybody done these kits, and how did they come out? What's your take on the wine?

Thanks,
Arden

Arden,

I have a bottle of my 2008 MM AllJuice Montepulciano open currently. I've been doing a multi-day taste test to attempt to project how this wine would progress with some more aging. The flavor upon initially opening the bottle was one of red fruit, which matches the California Montepulciano commercial wines I've tasted. It seem to be a lighter style of wine, that was more fruity when first opened and now after several days has picked up some deeper tones that I can't pinpoint flavors against.

I have not made any Renaissance kits so I can't compare there.

Hope that helps,

- Jim

Thank you, Jim, for that input; that helps. It looks like you're tasting something about 2 years old, so that helps, too, to know a bit more about how the Alljuice kit will progress.

You mention that it is a bit lighter than commercial Montepulcianos that you've tasted. I noticed on Mosti Mondiale's website that they suggest adding a little grape tannin for more "grip" and structure of commercial wines. Have you tried that with any success?

This kit was started in October of 2008, so it's currently sitting at 16 months. You can see everything I did with the kit here: http://www.findyourstrength.com/wine/200810Montepulciano.html