Highland Project

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

USDragoon

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I'm a new kid around here, and I’m just starting out learning about growing grapes. I posted a lot of info in the introduction section. “off my rocker” is my post, regarding my location and climate.

To summarize the post, here’s the basic stats of my micro climate:

Westcliffe, Colorado
I am 50 miles directly west of pueblo in the Wet Mountains. The Sangre de Cristo Mountains are about 15 miles further west of me. They reach 13- 14000’

My Elevation = approx. 9000’ (google maps says 9300')
Lowest temp since we lived here was this past Feb at -35F with wind chill making it feel like -80F (started warming up after that)
Highest temps seem to be around 78F in summer for a few days.

Micro-Climate = Winter 3- 6 feet of snow (over 10 feet has been recorded, but not in the past 5 years we’ve lived here) with usually a 1-2 foot snow pack, except this past snow season.
Summer- dry from mid May until “monsoon season” which usually starts about mid/ late July until late August/ early September.
First Freeze- 1st or 2nd week in September
Last Freeze- mid to late May
Winds- Can reach hurricane strength. The strongest gust we’ve had in 5 years that we’ve been here was clocked at 125mph in the town of Westcliffe, which is 1200’ below us and 8 miles away on the valley floor. Sustained winds can last for what seems like months to us. 12-30 mph?
Sunshine- A lot! Also being so far up, I’ve been told the light does some amazing things for improving vegetables. They do taste better.
Average precipitation = roughly 17-25 inches per year.