High abv cranberry

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bearclaw215

Junior
Reaction score
I have some cranberry juice left over from a party and I'm thinking about trying to push 1118 to its max of about 18%. Now I'm still pretty new at this and any advice is appreciated greatly.
I'm wondering if the cranberry will be able to be balanced at that abv? I haven't really put a lot of thought into it yet but im thinking stepped additions of sugar till around 15% then switch to a concentrate to help bring the flavor back in line with the abv.
Thanks in advance for any advice even if it's telling me it's a bad idea or I'm going about it in a hard way. Id just like to learn more before I make something that's not going to turn out well.

I think it would be a very harsh wine. Cranberry is high in acid as it is, then add a high alcohol content and you'll likely end up with something hard to drink. I'd probably shoot for more like 11% or so, and then backsweeten with sugar or concentrate.

That'd make sense, guess ill pass on that idea then. Thanks for the quick response. I already have a cranberry going at 11-12% so it would've been just to see what it's like. What kinds of fruits would you think would make something drinkable at 18%? Im finding scattered info but that may be its just a bad idea or beyond my skills right now

You will mask the flavor with that high abv. If you really want that star at about 12-14% then when it's almost finished add more sugar. Repeat until fermentation is stopped.

I'm guessing you won't like the end result. I shoot for 10% for fruit wines like that. More enjoyable.