Hello from SW Florida!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abigtroutt

Reaction score
Hello Everyone! My name is Bill and I am new to wine making... so new I haven't even made my first batch. I just recently purchased my first small 1 gallon kit and plan on using my own grapes from my backyard. I have 2 small muscadine vines which produced about 10lbs of grapes this year. I was given two additional vines this year doubling my vinyard...LOL! I think they are also muscadine's but the leaves are much bigger?? I am no expert and the person who gave them to me was not either but from what I understand muscadine is all I can grow successfully here.

I purchased the LD Carlson Vintner's 1 Gallon kit which included everything except Pectic Enzyme and Nutrient (which I purchased)

I plan on following the recipe for wild grapes

6 lbs of Muscadine Grapes
6 pts Water
2 lbs Sugar
1/2 tsp of Pectic
1 tsp Nutrient
1 Campden
1 pkg of Red Star Montrachet

Any advice would be very welcome!

I look forward to everyones advice and being a member here. From what I see this fourm has lots of awesome people on it!

Thanks
Bill

Welcome to the forum! Enjoy yourself making that wine.
A word of caution - it can become habit forming... the hobby, that is.

Hi Bill,

Welcome to winemakingtalk. When making your wine, only add enough water to bring your acid down to .75% or close to it and only add enough sugar to bring your sg to 1.080 - 1.090

Hi Bill!

Great to see you here! I will look forward for neighbor cooperation! I am planning to get some grape plants this fall as well!

Good luck with muscadines!

Welcome fellow Floridian, wondering if you have any idea how long Suppernongs will be avaliable that far south? Thanks, Loren