Front loading excess sugar

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Earldw

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Good day everyone. I made a blackberry all-juice wine last summer and I’m about to put it in the bottle. Initial SG was 1.103, final SG 0.994. It is very dry with no noticeable sweetness though it is pleasant and quite drinkable. When I experimented with backsweetening I always ended up with something that tasted unnatural and seemed to highlight some sharpness and the alcohol. I’ve decided to leave it dry.
I am also about to get a big harvest of spring blackberries so I’m wondering if I add enough sugar to get initial SG up around 1.110 given the same yeast if I could expect more residual sugar in the finished wine or just more alcohol?

This is an area that I've been wrestling with for a couple months and it all has to do with the hydrometer measuring density, not sugar content. What I've been doing is checking on line for the average sugar content of my fruit and then measuring SG AND Brix prior to sugar addition and comparing. Sometimes they're close, sometimes way off. My most extreme example was the ground cherries. The SG came in at 1.060, they weren't that sweet, and I found out they have sugar alcohols rather than fermentable sugar. I started 3 wines around 1.140-1.145 that fermented to .990 and the alcohol wasn't noticeable. There's no way 71B went to 19% abv. Without some serious testing we home wine makers make educated guesses and do the best we can. I know I'm not much help, sorry.

I agree with you on one point, though - I had 2 wines with residual sugar, the leftover sugar is probably fructose, and I really liked the flavor!