first Pineapple Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KSmith3011

Reaction score
Hey all,
Today was a horrible rainy day on Nantucket, so I celebrated by making wine. I loved the sound of the Pineapple Riesling and it has been on my mind for weeks. The main problem is the ph and acid levels. I am new to using these test on wine but followed them accurately.

I combined a few different recipes together to create this. About 18lbs Pineapple cleaned and cubed, k-meta, nutrient, ascorbic acid, enhancer, 8 lbs of sugar, 1 can Alexanders Sun Riesling concentrate and the broth from a soup of 5lbs of bananas. Everything looked awesome from the initial smell and color. The SG came in at 1.082 then I did the Ph and acid test. The ph was off the scale, I only have the test strips and it really only changed its color a hint, very high ph. I did a ph test with the strips on another batch of my wine and it worked perfect. I then did the acid test. As soon as I added one drop of the neutralizer it changed color. So this means I have .1% Acid.
A note; I did these test soon after I added all ingredients. I mixed everything together but thought perhaps the fruit needs time to combine with other ingredients.
Before I continue tomorrow with yeast, what should I do to this batch? My thought is to add acid blend but will this adjust the ph?
Thanks all!!

I think I got the answer. I will add about 5 tsp of acid blend to start and see what that does. If I need to I will add more acid to increase the acid and lower the ph.
:se

I remember I made a pineapple wine long time ago from canned pineapples.

Pineapples have very low acid.
When you do not adjust it you will get a medicine-flavor in your wine, really awfull. I speak from experience from my first pineapple batch.

Best is to test acidity: