WineXpert fermentation question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B.J.

Reaction score
I am making the Spanish Rose kit and this is my first time making wine. I just transferred my wine from the fermenting bucket to the carboy on Tuesday and just from today I noticed that the wine much clearer and there is about 3/4 inch of sediment on the bottom, but the airlock isn't bubbling at all anymore. Is this normal after only a couple days? The instructions said to leave it in the carboy for 10 days so the the SG will go down to about .996. When I transferred the wine the SG was 1.010 right where the instructions said it should be. If the wine isn't fermenting at all will the SG still get down the .998? I only transferred a little bit of the sediment like the instructions said to do, but did I leave too much behind?

Its probably already fermented to dry as these kits do not follow written instructions and those instructions are only a guide. You can check sg now and then again in 2 days and see if it is stable ( if the sg does not drop any more its stable) and then you can wait the remainder or proceed with the next step at this point. If there is 3/4 of sediment in there then wit these kits you did a good job.

Thanks for the help!!! I'll check it tomorrow and check again on Sunday like you suggested. If it is stable I'll just move on to the next step
smiley1.gif

BJ

Welcome to the Forum

And welcome to the world of WINEMAKING
smiley20.gif

What is your NEXT kit?

Welcome to Winemaking BJ. It sound like you are doing just fine, I have been making wine for about two years but I still feel like a newbie. Everyone here is great about asking everyone's questions so you have come to the right place. Good Luck and start choosing your next kit soon. It becomes a little addiciting.

Thanks for all the support guys!!!