Cranberry Wine and MLF

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Has anyone ever done an MLF to a fruit wine?

Didn't have time to check the TA but will try to get to it tonight. Had a pH of 2.61 and added Pot Bicarb and got to a pH of 3.42 prior to starting fermentation. Hadn't really thought about doing an MLF until the last couple of nights. I'll get to checking the pH and TA again tonight and see what they are. Primary fermentation is getting close to complete. I've never done an MLF before so just wondering if it would be completely off base with a fruit wine.

Thanks!

The big question (one I could not answer) is this.. Does the fruit you are using have an abundance of malic acid??? If so, then I do not see any reason why MLF would not be beneficial (unless it raises your PH too much).

How do you know what it has for Malic Acid? How do you determine when to do an MLF and when not to?

I'll get more info tonight with regards to the TA and pH, I just know the must was very acidic prior to adjustments and cranberry juice in general can be very tart. I'd prefer not to have the tartness carry over to the wine and if an MLF would help smooth it out, I'm all for it. Also, I'd be able to learn about MLF on a wine that at most I have $10.00 invested in, instead of screwing up a grape wine. Hoping to get into fresh grapes/juices next year, so experimenting now.

I did a little research and, as it turns out, cranberries are very high in malic acid. I take it that MLF would help to soften up the tartness.

The one thing I need to ask is this.. What is your level of SO2? MLB is very sensitive to SO2..