Bottled first batches using filter system

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

REDBOATNY

Reaction score
Brother and I bottled 3 gallons Vignoles (Ravat 51), 5 gallons NYS Riesling, 7 gallons spiced apple, and 3 gallons Cranberry. It took a little over 2 hours. I had filtered everything the weekend before with the whole house filter system. (Thanks Wade and Dan, you convinced me) Everything sparkles!! I did have a slight headache Thursday, may have had too many samples.

100_0372.jpg

Looks great, Redboat! They really sparkle! Filtering is the only way to go. IMO

Very Nice. I like the labels. A cranberry wine is intriguing. Maybe I should pick up a bottle at the local wine shoppe and try one.

Label design is always a challenge for me. I'm just not a graphic designer.

Jordan--then you might benefit from a labeling program. Makes it easy and the effects you can add, manipulating the picture,etc. can make it look very good. It's fun finding a new effect and seeing what it does. These programs have tons of fonts,too. All you have to do is bring the photo or clip-art into the program and manipulate it anyway you want.

One of the best things we found from these programs is that you'll often have a very intense-colored picture and putting black font on it doesn't work. You have to use white font or some light color. But the program allows you to use a back-light on the font so you can get a better looking label, instead of going with white font. If you do a lot of labeling, and intend to stay in this hobby a long time, even a program you pay for will be worth it. And it makes labeling time a lot of fun. It's one of our favorite parts of winemaking.