Bottle Bomb

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom_S

Reaction score
On another thread someone was dealing with refermentation in the bottles, which reminded me of a story.

I used to work as a police dispatcher. One evening I received a 911 call of a possible drive-by shooting at an apartment. The caller said that they heard a loud pop and heard glass shattering.

The officers arrived, checked around, spoke to the occupants, and left. Later they told me what happened.

Apparently the people living in the apartment decided to make homemade wine. They used a gallon glass jug, and instead of putting an airlock, balloon, or anything like that on the jug, they screwed the cap back on.

KABLOOOEY! The officers told me that there was glass embedded in the ceiling. It's just a good thing nobody was standing next to it when it went off. I bet it would have been a sight to see though.

similar, yet unrelated, reminds me of another kind of bottle bomb....makes me think back to when i was just a stock boy at the store as a teenager....we'd get our grocery delivery from the warehouse in the evening....our frozen food came in there like 8 foot tall containers, (which by the way would have made great one man fishing shanties if skis were afixxed to the bottom), packed with chunks of dry ice....well, sometimes us stock boys would carefully crack some small chunks off the blocks, place them in a plastic 2 lt. bottle with a lil water, and seal it back up with the cap...we'd place it at a far area of our alley and get the hell away....depending on how much water was used compared to the amount dry ice, a couple of minutes later you'd hear a big "BOOM", and no more bottle....lol.....you would have thought someone was using dynamite....lol...ah yes, the stupid things we'd do as teenagers....lol...