Best way to Bottle

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bluerdg

Junior
Reaction score
I'm new to the whole wine making process, but I seem to be well on my way to having produced my first batch of wine (World Vineyard boxed Pinot Grigio) My wife purchased all of the equipment I have through a shop my brother-in-law had used. I have both a plastic bucket primary container and a glass carboy. The kit directions have provided ample direction on racking between the two vessels, however the general directions received with the components and the juice kit differ in which container to bottle from. During racking I've used a siphon to transfer, leaving sediment in bottom of vessel being emptied. I have a bottling tool that will hook to either the siphon hose or the nipple on a spigot attached to the plastic bucket. Juice kit calls for using the siphon, while general instructions say to rack back to plastic bucket and draw through spigot. As I've got a substantial amount of sediment forming in the bottom of the carboy during the clearing stage, it makes sense that racking it over to bucket would minimize any potential sediment transfer during bottling. I'm just looking for any direction you all might have regarding your own personal bottling techniques.

How long has it been clearing? If you have that much sediment in the bottom - i would wait before bottling. I usually bottle when i have little to no sediment in the bottom of my carboy - i run it through a filter and then bottle.

Tips (assuming that you are using natural corks...

1) do not boil the corks. You can plunge them in k-meta solution if you want to.

2) Make sure that the bottles you are filling are clean. Be sure to rinse them using k-meta solution.