WineXpert Best 4 month wine suggestions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

physics911

Reaction score
I'm just getting started making kits on a regular basis, so I don't run out, which is the state I'm in now.

I would like recommendations for a couple decent dry to off-dry whites, and dry reds which would be pleasant by around May.

Thank you,
Chris

I'm just getting started making kits on a regular basis, so I don't run out, which is the state I'm in now.

I would like recommendations for a couple decent dry to off-dry whites, and dry reds which would be pleasant by around May.

Thank you,

Chris

You could always try some dragons blood or skeeter pee. I make sure I never run out of either. They are a little different then wines you may be used to but very good. Also a bit of an acquired taste. Skeeter pee really smooths out after a couple months.

The 2 white kits I have done are very good.

WE Vintners reserve Pinot Gris
And WE world vineyard California Trinity White.

I personally prefer the Pinot Gris over the trinity white.

I don't have any experience with early drinking reds. So far my favorite red kit has been a WE selection international Chilean Malbec/Shiraz. It's great after 6 months. Probably will be gone before the 1 year mark.

I did a WE World Vineyard Chilean Malbec and it is awesome after 30 days in the bottle. I'm sure it will just get better.

Thank you,
Chris
I'm going to say that almost all of the decent kits will be "pleasant" by then.

The real question is what wines do you like? For example, I like Rieslings & gewurztraminers but don't like chardonnays. So I'll recommend Vineco's Ken Ridge Showcase German Gewurztraminer (we make it dry by putting the f-pack/Suss Reserve in the fermenter) rather than a chardonnay. Similarly, I don't like cabs that much so I'll say merlot or shiraz.