Acid Levels

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wineon4

Reaction score
I have 5 gal of Cherry made from fruit and 5 gal of blackberry made from fruit. It is in the carboys sitting at .990 but the taste is a little flat. I am looking to adjust the acid which is a step I have never done before and do not want to ruin this wine. Any recommendations ?

Last edited:
Buy a titration kit, they are about $10, I would have the acid around .65% - .70%

Julie,

Can I adjust the levels when the wine has finished? I plan to check the acid in the must of all future batches. I plan to stop at the brew shop on my way home from work today and buy a test kit and some acid blend. Anything else I should stock up on. :hh

It is best to adjust acid prior to fermentation but you can adjust after fermentation.

Julie,

Can I adjust the levels when the wine has finished? I plan to check the acid in the must of all future batches. I plan to stop at the brew shop on my way home from work today and buy a test kit and some acid blend. Anything else I should stock up on. :hh

Get some tartaric acid instead of acid blend. I think that you will find that it gives better results.

could be even higher for cherry wine (.75)

i'll admit, i like most of my whites and fruits to have a bit of an acidic "crispness", so to speak, especially since i also like them a bit on the sweeter side as well....no, not dessert sweet, but about a semi-sweet, unless we are taking about a late harvest riesling...and this way, the acid helps to balance it out and you can tell that you are drinking wine and not juice or kool-aid....

Thanks, I will try these ideas. May just adjust small amounts and get it to where my wife and I will enjoy it.

LOL, I actually like my fruit wines around .75 - ,80 but thought that was just me.