Really Simple Skeeter Pee

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jcook5003

Junior
Reaction score
Hey Guys-

I'm brand new to this whole winemaking thing but I just wanted to share with you all what I was doing right now.

I have been reading lots of problems people have using Lemon Juice from the grocery store to ferment. So I decided to try a little different route since it's so cheap.

I also didnt have a slurry from previous wine so I was disadvantaged there too.

My local grocery store has an all organic section and they just had all natural lemon and lime juice on sale for $1 for 16 oz. bottles, it has no preservatives and has some pulp and stuff in the bottom of the bottle.

So heres what I wanted to try since Skeeter Pee is said to be the easy to make drink as soon as it's done summer wine. :)

SkeeterPee the Josh Way

1. Poured 4 each 16oz. bottles of all natural lemon and lime juice in my primary.

2. Created a syrup with 16 cups of water and sugar

3. Added 3/4 tsp. Tannin, 6 tsp yeast nutrient, 2 tsp yeast energizer

4. Added water to make 5.5 Gallons.

5. Crushed 5 campden tablets and added them to the must.

I set it aside for the night and tomorrow I plan on adding 2 packets of EC-1118 yeast and see what happens. I figure I have about $15 in the whole thing so if I ruin it ehhhhh what am I really out.

I will keep all you guys posted so you can see if it works or epically fails. :)

Stayed Tuned!!!!

Last edited:
I don't have trouble with sp taking off. If not from a slurry I hold off with some of the lemon juice until fermentation is underway.

You do not need 2 packs of yeast. Lalvin EC-1118 is a vigorous yeast capable of handling up to 18% alcohol.

Keep it warm and well airated and you will be fine.