Zork closures

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arthur1

Junior
Reaction score
I am a newbie with 5 gallons oo cabernet aging in a carboy. I intend to bottle at the end of summer. Because I've made a small batch, I'm thinking of using Zork closures. Has anyone had experience with Zork closures? Thanks for the help!

I have used them for the last 8 years. Four years when I had a winery and the remainder as a home winemaker. they hold the wine very well after opening as they become a air tight "T" cork. they are a economical alternative to corks and a shrink cap if you desire a decorative touch to the wine. It was a great seller and conversation starter in the tasting room.
they can be inserted using a bung rubber headed hammer, or if you have a lot, I use a beer corker with a two inch magnet attached to the beer capper. adjust the height and press down similar to beer capping and the Zork is easily inserted.

Thanks, that's helpful and good to know. I wonder if Zorks can be reused for new bottling, except for those lost to bottles given away.

one think I did not mention above the wine bottles must be proper for Zorks. the bottle finish(top of bottle) is specific for Zorks. the bottle opening is slightly larger and has a rim to capture the Zork. if used on cork finish bottle it might be very hard to remove Zork later. I would experiment on the wine bottle you have before using a lot. once the Zork is used the T cork that is left is good for short period of time or on high alcohol wine. new Zorks should be used for new wine bottles.

Yes, I read that the Zork only fits on certain bottles. I'm planning to reuse the empties of store-bought wine that were sealed with corks. Maybe it would be simpler to just use corks.