zinfandel blending?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kendo

Reaction score
whats your favorite blend for zin?..im thinking about a 70 % zin, 20 %petit, and 10% carignane this year sound good?..:dg

Zinfandel and Petite Sirah is probably my favorite blend. I usually like to go 75% Zin and 25 Petite Sirah. Many folks argue that by adding more than 15-20% PS you lose the varietal character of the Zinfandel. For me adding 25% PS gives the Zin the back bone that it needs. The carignane is also a common blender with these grapes, but I personally have never vinified that varietal.

I'd love to know how this turns out. Keep us posted on what you chose and why.

Kendo, if you really want to walk on the wild side, try blending Zinfandel 75-25 with Muscat. I have been making or helping make this wine on and off for more than 50 years. I was fortunate enough to be awarded a Silver Medal at the Pittsburgh Amateur Wine Makers Competition in March, 2012 for the wine.

Last edited:
whats your favorite blend for zin?..im thinking about a 70 % zin, 20 %petit, and 10% carignane this year sound good?..:dg