RJ Spagnols Winery Series Amarone

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
O'Fallon, MO - Just NorthWest of St. Louis, MO
On Sunday, I mixed up a double batch (or 12 gallons) of RJS Winery Stores Amarone. This is my first time making the RJS version of this great wine. I expected the grape skins, but was very surprised to also find raisins. I bagged everything together in a big fruit bag. Added some extra tannins. I want super impressed by the sg that day, only 1.094. I decided not to add any extra sugar, but let it sit overnight.

The sg on Monday morning had risen to 1.114. Now we are talking. I pitched the Ec-1118 that came with the kits. I didn't swap it out, since the sg had climbed so much. This is what it looked like today, when I stirred. I am loving the smell and look of it.

1492522027069.jpg

I just bottled a batch of this two weeks ago. Subbed in BM4X4 and gave it some tannin in secondary and barrel time. I put the skins in primary and grapes in secondary. It is only about 14 months old, but I'm wishing I'd done a double batch. Won't be touching it for a while still, but I like what I have so far.

No this isn't the Classico, I went with the other one. I tried to figure out the difference between the two and gave up and went with the slightly less expensive one. Actually they may have been out of the Classico at the time, now that I think back. And I had to struggle a little bit to get SWMBO to agree that we should make two of them at once. Luckily we had tasted one of these just a few days before at a friends house party and she loves drier, than dry red wines.

And I certainly don't see this being consumed much before three years from now. Well, I'll probably note the last few bottles when we get around to bottling, those will be consumed at 6, 12, and 18 months.

Last edited: