Wine Cooler Brand/Model Advice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TallTexan

Reaction score
I am just beginning a search for a wine cooler for storing/aging my wines. I do not have the option of building a dedicated climate controlled wine storage area. Am looking for others who have recently purchased wine cooler(s) in the 150 - 200+ bottle capacity range. Can you share what brands and models were under consideration and what were your reasons for choosing a particular brand and model? I have only shopped the Wine Enthusiast web site thus far, and they offer a single-zone model of their own brand that I am reading about, but I have also read very good reviews on EuroCave brand. My budget is $3.5K max. Trying to determine if I should go for the EuroCave and settle for a smaller capacity, or consider a larger capacity with a less expensive brand. The longer warranty on the EuroCave is pushing me in that direction. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

The reviews on the Eurocave seem to be among the best. $3500 is a lot of scratch to hold only 150-200 bottles of wine. You might think of converting an unused room or closet or something similar in which you could get a lot more bang for your buck so to speak. You may find yourself running out of room sooner than you think!

I have the Wine Enthusiast brand 300 bottle cooler from Costco.

I have had it for 2 years, and now it can not maintain temperature. I have it set to 51 (just to try to get it lower) and the lowest it gets is 58-62.

Any of these # bottle capacity coolers will never hold the amount listed especially since all bottles are different, mine is no exception.

I am in the process of having Costco issue a refund since it is basically a large paper weight now. Avoid this brand.