Wild Grape wine on lees for a long time

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

naturevibe

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie to winemaking. I'm on my third go around (the first was dandelion mead, the second was hard cider, and the most recent, wild grape wine), and everything I've made has been natural - no chemicals. I really don't understand the science behind the process, so these attempts at brewing have been simply for fun, with an understanding that I may not end up with something drinkable.

I started my wild grape wine back in October 2011, using wild riverbank grapes. They were ripe, though still plenty tart and concentrated of course. My wine consists of only the pressed grape juice, sugar, and Lalvin 71B-1122 yeast. The juice was heated well -but not boiled- in an attempt to lower wild yeast interference.

I have about a gallon of it in a glass carboy with an airlock... and somehow I managed to completely forget about it down in the basement (busy winter). So, it's been in there for 7-8 months. I did look at it once over the winter, saw no surface growth of any sort , and then promptly forgot about it again. It now has white foamy spots with tiny bubbles on the surface, and if I stick my ear close I think I can hear them crackling/bubbling a little. Is this a lost cause, or has it somehow just naturally become carbonated? At this point, I'm less concerned about the flavor, and more concerned with - will it harm me if I drink it and will it explode if I bottle it?

Thanks for any suggestions you may have (and my apologies for being a lazy ignorant winemaker).

Sounds to me like you made it in the fall, and things progressed okay... Then the winter came, temps dropped & both you and the wine hunkered down for the winter..