why am I having such a hard time removing sediment?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Just remember, I am new to this. I only started my wine making journey a month ago...

1. It seems, I have a problem waiting.. It seems so strange to me that I need to wait months and months to do this.

I know it feels like this is taking forever, especially if the kits promise a quick turnaround time. But really, a month is no time at all when it comes to wine.

Try leaving it alone for a little while. Stop fiddling with it. Stop checking to see if the sediment is easily stirred up, don't rack if it's only been a few days, don't add any more fining agents for now. Give it some time --2-3 months if you can-- to settle and clear.

And in the mean time, make beer! It's ready much quicker!

Why would it be harder to remove CO2 at this stage? Isn't it just a matter of agitation or vacuum? I started with agitation then moved to vacuum...

I just find it takes more than one attempt to remove the CO2 and I have given up trying to remove it. I just rack under vacuum three or four times over the normal course of making wine and it comes out all by itself. For most commercial winemakers, there is no "degassing" step. I guess what I am trying to say is contrary to what the wine kits indicate, PATIENCE is rewarded. Winemaking takes time, let it it take it's time.

I know it feels like this is taking forever, especially if the kits promise a quick turnaround time. But really, a month is no time at all when it comes to wine.

Try leaving it alone for a little while. Stop fiddling with it. Stop checking to see if the sediment is easily stirred up, don't rack if it's only been a few days, don't add any more fining agents for now. Give it some time --2-3 months if you can-- to settle and clear.