What to do after the first Fermentation?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoerassicPark

Junior
Reaction score
I am looking to start producing my own wine from grape juice to start. I have done lots of research and only have a few questions before starting. After the first fermentation (5-7 days) and the yeast begins to die and settle. Should I pour the wine into a new container to remove the dead yeast or should I just leave it there for the second fermentation. Also, I read that certain yeasts die in cold temperatures. How do I store the wine during the weeks it is fermenting to prevent spoilage. After the fermentation should I then store it in the fridge? These are probably basic questions, however, I have never done this before and really look forward to the experience! Thank you for the help and if you have any tips for me prior to starting please let me know!

I am looking to start producing my own wine from grape juice to start. I have done lots of research and only have a few questions before starting. After the first fermentation (5-7 days) and the yeast begins to die and settle. Should I pour the wine into a new container to remove the dead yeast or should I just leave it there for the second fermentation. Also, I read that certain yeasts die in cold temperatures. How do I store the wine during the weeks it is fermenting to prevent spoilage. After the fermentation should I then store it in the fridge? These are probably basic questions, however, I have never done this before and really look forward to the experience! Thank you for the help and if you have any tips for me prior to starting please let me know!