Other what is a good red kit

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobertChartier

Reaction score
I am still pretty new at this, only making wine since last October.

I've made an apple wine from fresh cider, an RJS Blackberry Blast, and have 3 others "from scratch" batches aging right now.

I just bottled my Wine Expert Peach Raspberry Sangria, and RJS Green Apple Delight.

The wife has decided to get me a Cornucopia Raspberry Pinot Nero kit.

We drink a lot of Cab, and we also like the Pinot Noir and Carmenere. I like Merlot, but have never been impressed with a Malbec.

I'm thinking of a solid red next, probably a Cabernet Sauvignon.

There seems to be a plethora of these, and I'm wondering if anyone can offer some advise on which kits are good, which are bad, etc.

Being fairly new still I'm not sure if I'm ready to tackle a high end premier kit just yet, but would like to expand my skills a bit, as well as my wine cellar.

just looking for some opinions and advice.

I have had very good luck with the high end kits: CC Showcase, RJS Winery Series, and WE Eclipse. I have not done any RJS En Primeur kits. If you are looking specifically for a Cab I would suggest, as would many here, either the CC Showcase Red Mountain Cab or the WE Eclipse Lodi Ranch 11 Cab. I have not made the California Cab in the Winery Series line, but I have had very good success with other kits in that line.

If you like Cab you might also want to consider Cab blends like the various Italian kits such as RJS Cellar Classic Rosso Grande, RJS Winery Series Super Tuscan, and CC Showcase Rosso Fortissimo - they have all been very good for me.

And I wouldn't be too worried about messing up a high end kit. As long as you properly clean and sanitize everything you use the instructions are easy to read and pretty fool proof.