What a day!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Terry0220

Reaction score
Started the day out by taking out my frozen peaches. I could have sworn that I had more,,me thinks the youngest daughter helped herself to some when I wasn't around, oh well, at least they didn't go to waste. I even went as far as looking through all three freezer compartments to make sure that there wasn't some hiding somewhere in there. But I also did find some frozen blackberries, blueberries and elderberries. That being said, I only ended up with 13# of frozen cut up peaches,,what to do? What else,,headed to the store, figured ok, not full peach, then (gasp) frozen concentrate (LOL). Ended up seeing, since I am a newbie at homewinemaking, that in the frozen section, not only was there, white grape, there was 100% white grape peach!!! So I bought 8 cans of those and 8 cans of white grape. Then what the heck,,got 8 cans of 100% grape and 8 cans of white grape raspberry. Figured, since I was gonna be stuck in the house most of the week I may as well do something that I like. Once home, I started sanitizing a 6 gal carboy, and all that was needed to rack my strawberry along with two primaries. In sanitizing my hydrometer,,you guessed it, I broke it,,but as luck has it,,I know myself and had a back up! The strawberry when tested had a sg of 1.000,,alittle too dry wanted the strawberry to come through, so I added a thawed can of the white grape concentrate, brought it up to 1.006. Not bad, but will taste it again tomorrow. ~Jule~ would you like to come over and give it a taste and some input?? You know you are welcome anytime!! OK, on to my peaches. In the primary I disolved (as much as one can) 2 tsp of bentonite, added 6 Campton tablets, put the peaches into my stainer bag, added 8 cans of the grape-peach and 4 cans of the white grape, filled ea