Wedding wine suggestions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roadpupp

Reaction score
Hey all-
I am fairly new to winemaking but with two kits under my belt and some Skeeter Pee fermenting, I think I have the basics down.

My wife's sister is getting married in about a year. She likes Pinot Noir and Syrah but is open to most decent reds I put in front of her.

I want to make a special wine for her wedding. I was thinking a red and a white. I believe there will be roughly 100 guests. At first I thought I would need to do four kits but that would be more than a bottle per person!

I haven't ever seen somone make wine for a wedding so I don't know if it would be just a few bottles for the table and then the caterer would pour the back up wine later or if I should plan to supply the entire wedding. At 4 kits, I would be spending over $500 but this is my wife's twin so that is probably acceptable.

So a few questions to you the wine makers:
Would you try to make all the wine or just say, a few bottles for each table?

More importantly.

Which wine kits? I think at this point I should stick to kits over All Juice as I am familiar with the process. I have a WE Limited Release Washington Meritage still in the box and just picked up a Castel de Papa Rennaisance with Grape Pack from Wade.

I know that grape pack kits tend to take 18 months to really come into their own. Would either of those make a good all around crowd pleaser of decent quality for a wedding in one year from now?

My goals are to get a kit that I won't screw up, will taste good in 12 months and will taste like quality wine to the average wedding guest. The labels and all the rest will be a nice touch.