VSP vs TWC

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jerry Barbian

Junior
Reaction score
I have 425 Itasca on VSP with double catch wires for shoot positioning. All I do is stuff them between the wires when they are long enough and the tendrils grab the wires as they grow up. I use T-bands to attach the vines to the fruiting wire, but I don't use anything else like a Tapener for the vertical growth. I'm still new to this, but positioning the shoots this way seems super easy this way.

Another factor is the netting. I want to use Permanet for bird and insect control. For TWC I would need larger and much more expensive nets. The side netting that I put up this year was fairly easy to do. I should be able to roll it up onto the irrigation wire after harvest until I need it next year. I'm also in favor of VSP for netting purposes.

In the photo, I have 25 vines that are in their third year. I just put the netting up, but still need to close up the top with clips that should be here today.

Is TWC that much easier to maintain? I'm looking at adding different varieties and I need to consider which way to grow them. Crimson Pearl is on my short list for a red, but I'm not sure if I have to go with a TWC, or have a go with VSP. Or should I consider a different variety if I want to be stubborn and use all VSP? How much comes down to personal preference?

Attachments

• 20200817_140341.jpg
    20200817_140341.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 54