Vitners wine bases

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lostspring

Junior
Reaction score
Good Morning All
I am new to wine making and probably got a little ahead of myself. I bought a one gallon starter kit to just get my feet wet. I also bought a one gallon Vitners Apricot wine base thinking I could just use one quart of the the base to try and freeze the remainder. I am now reading where some are saying that these bases make a thin wine, I am assuming mouth feel here. So I guess my questions are 1. should I just go ahead and make a one gallon batch using one quart and freeze the rest 2. Increase the amount used. would that require adding more sugar and such . 3. or make a larger batch,3 gallons, maybe using the whole gallon of base and tripling the additives.
Thanks for any and all suggestions

Your first choice is the best but you could also just buy a 6 gallon fermenting bucket and some additional 1 gallon jugs and ferment the whole thing. This would be my recommendation. With this product you only add water and yeast, nothing else. They probably do make thin wines but that's relative. The sugars are designed to produce a wine of approx 10%. Limiting the amount of water will increase the ABV. A 3 gallon batch will probably have such a high alcohol content the yeast will die off leaving a very sweet, hot wine. You might want to try a 4 - 4.5 gallon batch.

Last edited:
Which product are you using?

Vintners Best
Vintners Harvest

If it's a 1 gallon jug then it's probably Vintners Best.

In all honesty most makers of these concentrates tend to exaggerate the amount of wine you can make unless you are truly looking for a lightly flavored wine. Not all, but many of us who make fruit wines (vs Grape wines), tend to like stronger flavored wines.