Vinbrite Gravity Filter Question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MedPretzel

Reaction score
I received an interesting PM that I thought I'd share with all of you. It's a very valid question, and I hope I could answer it correctly. I have no experience with the mini-jet, and I am sure it's the better system, but here are the initial questions and responses.... Please feel free to add some comments or suggestions that I may have forgotten to add.....

<DIV =quotetop>Martina,
I understand you use the Vinbrite filter system to filter your wines? I've got a VB mini jet filter that I've been using for my large batches (6 gallons), but think it's overkill for my small 1 gallon batches of wines. so, was thinking about the Vinbrite gravity filter for these smaller batches. Any thoughts? I know that I'll have to buy filter pads for either one, so maybe the cost would be the same, and I'd end up using the minijet anyhow. Thanks for any advice.

I would probably save the extra money and use your mini-jet even for the 1 gallon batches. It's quicker, and if you rinse somewhat with sulfite solution in between batches, you might even be able to get away with using the same filter-pad for more than one batch. This is pretty unorthodox advice I'm giving you, and probably a lot of people on the forum would very much disagree with me (says that residual taste could impart on the next wine filtered), but I have done it without major adverse effects.