Valiant grapes/New to making wine/fermentation questions :

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alan molstad

Junior
Reaction score
This is my first try at making wine,
Grapes are 2 year old Valiant grapes.
I have harvested the grapes, de-stemmed ,crushed placed into buckets with lids, and added yeast to the grapes 7 days ago.
I push down the cap 3 times a day.

assuming that I don't have any knowledge of testing equipment, when can I tell when its time to press the grapes and start the next phase?

First of all normal is to test the gravity with a hydrometer about $7.00 and a cylinder about $5. We look fo 1.000 or 0.994 or maybe even .0.990. Note there can be a range here. Some of this is convenience as it is Saturday and I have time.

Second option is make a guess based on time and flavor. I will guess that you have extracted all the tannin that you need for flavor in seven days, taste to see if you like the skin flavors/ bitter dehydrating. Normal at a week at 75F it should be dry and from this point on you increase the risk of oxidation/ spoilage. IF you are running low temp as 65F it might take two weeks to become dry. , , , as long as CO2 is being actively released it is somewhat safe. When the rate slows down it should be under airlock or otherwise protected ex I will use a 120mm Big Mouth Bubbler ans have a stretch silicone cover.

welcome to wine making talk.

I'd love to hear how your wine turns out! I am new to this too and would love to make wine from Valiant grapes, just need to find someone local I can get them from.

UPDATE:

My wine is in the Carboy now over 2 weeks.
I have racked it one time.
Things have slowed down, and I really dont see much action going on with bubbles in the airlock.

I pressed the grapes without issue.
I ended up with enough wine to fill 3 carboys.