WineXpert Using less water in a kit

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zinfandel

Junior
Reaction score
I am just new to making kit wine, only on second batch right now. And it got me to wondering; if I add too much water, the wine will be slightly diluted and not taste as good. On the flip side, what if I add slightly less water than the kit calls for?

Will it be slightly more concentrated, and therefore a more rich wine? Or would it be messing with the chemistry of the kit too much?

How much are you talking about? Less than 1/4 gallon would concentrate the flavors and up the alcohol. If you're thinking 1 gallon less then I think you'd really mess up the chemistry.

I'm Canadian, so I only think in Litres! A standard batch is 23 litres, and I was thinking about starting with maybe 21 or 22 litres. Not sure how low to go without ruining it.

Depends upon the kit. When doing a 12 Liter kit, some people purposely use less water. When doing an 18 Liter kit, I would do it per instructions.

Part of the benefit of wine barrel aging is concentrating the wine (more evaporation). So, one would ask: Why not just start with less water.

Well, that upsets the balance of the wine during fermentation. Could be ok. could be bad.

Because I miss measured, my first kits were short water. They were also 12 L kits. They turned out fine.

When doing any kit I would personally not go any more or less than 750ML of a 23 liter kit. Mater of fact I limit myself to using no more than .5L for topping off and then if need be use similar wine or marbles. I will cut back a little on the water when doing a kit with grape skins because I've found that following the instructions to fill to the 23L mark and then adding the grape skins has resulted in some overage later in the process, so now I adjust about 500ML down in the primary to avoid that.