Using Egg Beater to Rid of H2S

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am an obvious beginner to winemaking, having made about 6 batches over the last few years. Most of the batches have been disgustingly inundated with H2S.

I have learned, through this forum, that the probable cause has been a lack of proper yeast nutrient at the proper time, but before learning this I have been using an egg beater to whip up the wine after it's first racking and before placing into carboys. It seems to work well. I've tried "splash racking" the wine, but that didn't do the trick -- hence the egg beater.

Two questions:

1. In all the recipes that I've read, I've always seen that the yeast nutrient is to be added at the same time the yeast is pitched -- but here on the forum I read that it ought to be added sometime AFTER the yeast is pitched. Why don't the recipes reflect this important step?

2. Any thoughts about using and egg beater to rid the wine of H2S?

Thanks

Hiya montebello-wino, and welcome. My two cents:
1. an egg beater is fine because one way of removing H2S is to whip air into the wine. One common reason for the yeast's production of hydrogen sulfide is a lack of oxygen and whipping air into the wine either adds O2 or the action of whipping the wine allows the H2S that has been produced to off gas more easily. Other reasons for the production of H2S is a lack of nitrogen and other nutrients.