WineXpert Topping Off Carboy After Racking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

singingfun

Junior
Reaction score
Greetings from Maryland. This is my first ever post on this site and I hope I'm following correct protocol.

My friend and I have been making kit wines for about 1-1/2 years now. She grew up with her dad making wine so I always defer to her expertise. We live 30 minutes apart and the wine is being made in my basement. We get together every couple of months to bottle the wine that is ready and start one or two new batches. I handle the details that happen in between - racking and adding stabilizers, etc.

We have one disagreement running right now and it has to do with the amount of water that we add in the first step. Of course we have the primary fermenters but when we are adding water to the line, we can't agree on where the line is. I know this sounds dumb but as soon as it starts to approach the line, she wants to stop adding water. We easily could be adding another entire gallon of water and it would be more "on the line."

This would not matter except, when I go to rack it to the 6 gallon carboy, there isn't enough wine to fill it. This puts me in a dilemma. Since it's in my basement, I feel deeply responsible for this stage of the wine. One time I added distilled water and it took a gallon to top it off. My friend prefers that I NOT do this, saying it's watering it down. I disagree. The kit was meant to have the correct amount of water and it needs to be there. I do think it should be added at the beginning, however, not at the first racking.

One time she asked me to go out and buy cheap wine from the store to top it off. So this added about $15 to the cost of the wine and I was not happy to be adding a cheap store brand to our creation.