Time for a crusher/destemmer?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zwetschgen

Junior
Reaction score
I have been making wine for a few years and I have been getting along fine with just a press for the most part. Last year I decided to make some Norton Wine. It took several hours, close to 8 I would imagine, to destem all those grapes (120 lbs!) Crushing took a little bit of time, but my fiance was eager to help stomp on some grapes (she couldn't help me pull grapes off stems though...) Would it be wise to invest in a small manual crusher destemmer? I have plans to continue to do 100 lbs plus of grapes, maybe even more in the future, it just took way too long. How do you all without destemmers do it? Perhaps I have a bad technique. Also, I make wine from everything else as well, can I use a crusher/destemmer on apples?

I have a manual crusher destemmer and for the amount you state the manual is perfect and a motor for this much would be waste of money and just make it too heavy to move around. I have the bigger one which really isn much more and worth the few extra bucks in my opinion and if in the future you want to do more and want the motor the mounts are there already and youll just need the motor and pulley! Below is a pic of mine.

Crusher Destemmer.jpg

I you have the $$$ its worth every penny even at that small amount plus if you plan on expanding down the road your ready. It will not work for Apples, Grapes only. For Apples you can use your press, just cut them into pieces and press.

Nice looking equipment!
I have a hard enough time convincing the lady that the 25 pound bag of sugar will be used, spending something to the tune of $350 is going to take more than a wide grin, but you all seem very confident that it would be worth it. It is unfortunate that they won't be able to crush apples too.