THINKING

Wine Making Talk

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

salcoco

Veteran Wine Maker
WMT Supporter
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
2,623
Reaction score
985
Location
Kansas
I believe it says you can only make 200 gallons a year. you can keep more than that.
 

TonyP

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
797
Reaction score
92
Location
Shoreline, Connecticut
In thinking about this topic, I want to offer a serious observation. There is no limit on the amount of wine an individual can produce for personal use. The limitations of 100 gallons for one person and 200 gallons for 2 or more adults relate only to what can be produced without tax liability. Additional amounts can be produced without penalty but an alcohol tax of $1.07 - $3.07 (depending on alcohol content) per gallon is due.
 

hounddawg

Dawg
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
459
Location
very N.E. Arkansas in the instep of MO,,
In thinking about this topic, I want to offer a serious observation. There is no limit on the amount of wine an individual can produce for personal use. The limitations of 100 gallons for one person and 200 gallons for 2 or more adults relate only to what can be produced without tax liability. Additional amounts can be produced without penalty but an alcohol tax of $1.07 - $3.07 (depending on alcohol content) per gallon is due.
try reading arkansas law, in the USA, now that i think on it tht was the law when i first got on here, 3 years ago the counties around us went wet, my country is still a dry county
Dawg
 

cmason1957

CRS Sufferer
WMT Supporter
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
3,678
Reaction score
2,730
Location
O'Fallon, MO - Just NorthWest of St. Louis, MO
In thinking about this topic, I want to offer a serious observation. There is no limit on the amount of wine an individual can produce for personal use. The limitations of 100 gallons for one person and 200 gallons for 2 or more adults relate only to what can be produced without tax liability. Additional amounts can be produced without penalty but an alcohol tax of $1.07 - $3.07 (depending on alcohol content) per gallon is due.
And to be able to pay that tax, you must become licensed and probably bonded. As home winemakers we can produce 100 or 200 gallons with no tax, no license required, provided our state does not have greater restrictions placed on us.
 

hounddawg

Dawg
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
459
Location
very N.E. Arkansas in the instep of MO,,
And to be able to pay that tax, you must become licensed and probably bonded. As home winemakers we can produce 100 or 200 gallons with no tax, no license required, provided our state does not have greater restrictions placed on us.
licensed-bonded, and your winery must be in a separate approved building with approved stainless steel equipment, to the tune of better the $500,000, (micro winery) cmason1957 hit the nail on the head, not to mention i am in a dry county, your allowed one gallon store bought whiskey, an/or one case store bought beer, the town closest to me is around 400 population , meaning everybody knows everybody's business, now as for your wine cellar that i would have to look up, but the wines laws and alcohol for fuel laws i have bookmarked, i'm older, very disabled and could not outrun bubba in prison,
Dawg
 

hounddawg

Dawg
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
459
Location
very N.E. Arkansas in the instep of MO,,
In thinking about this topic, I want to offer a serious observation. There is no limit on the amount of wine an individual can produce for personal use. The limitations of 100 gallons for one person and 200 gallons for 2 or more adults relate only to what can be produced without tax liability. Additional amounts can be produced without penalty but an alcohol tax of $1.07 - $3.07 (depending on alcohol content) per gallon is due.
and where i live it is 200 gallons period, not 1 person, or 2 person,
Dawg
 

hounddawg

Dawg
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
459
Location
very N.E. Arkansas in the instep of MO,,
Arkansas state laws for Lawrence County Arkansas, permit production of a maximum of 200 gallons per year, for personal use only, you are not allowed to sell or trade one drop. although you may freely give away to any legal age citizens, when i started this last time, i contacted the ABC, which paraphrasing here you must have tons of money for the building, the proper commercial equipment, a rather large bond, or feel free to officially make your 200 gallons for personal use, yes if you drink some, give some away no one will ever know you produced more than 200 hundred gallons, but in the last 6 or 7 years 87 gallon was my largest production and that easily lasts me better than 2 years, this year i have 84 gallons bulk aging so far, i might go for another 60 gallons for this year, pear/apple blend,,, sour cherry,,, peach,, beyond that i ain't sure, but yes the Arkansas state legislature, for you see in lawrence county you must drive miles to buy alcohol since lawrence county is a dry county, zero booze,
Dawg
 

sour_grapes

Victim of the Invasion of the Avatar Snatchers
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
10,567
Reaction score
8,114
Location
near Milwaukee
and where i live it is 200 gallons period, not 1 person, or 2 person,
Dawg
Those rules are federal rules. Arkansas, being part of the US, is subject to them: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-1998-title27-vol1/pdf/CFR-1998-title27-vol1-sec24-75.pdf So, in Arkansas, a household with two or more adults may produce 200 gallons, but a household with only 1 adult may produce no more than 100 gallons per calendar year.

It is true that the state of Arkansas only seems to require a permit for households producing more than 200 gallons/year, without regard for how many adults are in your household, but that is a different matter. Home Manufacture of Alcohol State Statutes
 

hounddawg

Dawg
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
459
Location
very N.E. Arkansas in the instep of MO,,
Those rules are federal rules. Arkansas, being part of the US, is subject to them: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-1998-title27-vol1/pdf/CFR-1998-title27-vol1-sec24-75.pdf So, in Arkansas, a household with two or more adults may produce 200 gallons, but a household with only 1 adult may produce no more than 100 gallons per calendar year.

It is true that the state of Arkansas only seems to require a permit for households producing more than 200 gallons/year, without regard for how many adults are in your household, but that is a different matter. Home Manufacture of Alcohol State Statutes
yep i have had 5 circuit judges clear me from the police, on the way i do things, everybody tends my business, so i took this to the county level, the state level and the federal level, i also got our fishing laws revised, the 8 daily limit an 16posseon limit changed to once it is in the freeze the 16 posson of fish is unlimited as long as you do not break the daily limit, or the 16 in the fridge limit, as well as brandy is technically legal as long as no grains are used, but that is like playing with a mad copperhead, at an average of 87 gallons i have no fear of being raided by the ABC,
Dawg
 

hounddawg

Dawg
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
459
Location
very N.E. Arkansas in the instep of MO,,
Those rules are federal rules. Arkansas, being part of the US, is subject to them: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-1998-title27-vol1/pdf/CFR-1998-title27-vol1-sec24-75.pdf So, in Arkansas, a household with two or more adults may produce 200 gallons, but a household with only 1 adult may produce no more than 100 gallons per calendar year.

It is true that the state of Arkansas only seems to require a permit for households producing more than 200 gallons/year, without regard for how many adults are in your household, but that is a different matter. Home Manufacture of Alcohol State Statutes
yup i stand corrected, 100 fer one,,,, 200 fer 2,,,. yet 200 before taxes. been close to 7 years since i read the law,
Dawg
 

hounddawg

Dawg
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
459
Location
very N.E. Arkansas in the instep of MO,,
HoundDawg standing up to the pol - cat's!
well i wish this was my only wrong but if i claimed that i'd be feared of lighting hitting me,,
although i after reading the law,,, I checked my first post says i got 120 to go whew, yep i was mixed up it should of said only 60 gallon so far this year, I SWEAR IT,,,,,,,cough
Dawg
 
2

Latest posts

Top