Thinking of using hops instead of gesho (inchet and kitel)?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BernardSmith

Reaction score
A few months ago I made a small quantity of t'ej (traditional Ethiopian wine from honey). The recipe calls for gesho and that is what I used. Gesho seems to be used as a kind of hop in that it adds some bitterness to the wine and although I am no expert in beer making, the gesho is added cold (dry hopping?) and then later boiled. The t'ej was delicious but I wonder if anyone has tried making a US version using beer hops and if so what hops have you used and in what quantities did you add them (Assume the basic unit is one gallon of mead). I am thinking of making a few single test gallons. Should I be looking for hops with high alphas or low alphas? The ABV will be around 13 percent and the time to ferment is about one month.

A few months ago I made a small quantity of t'ej (traditional Ethiopian wine from honey). The recipe calls for gesho and that is what I used. Gesho seems to be used as a kind of hop in that it adds some bitterness to the wine and although I am no expert in beer making, the gesho is added cold (dry hopping?) and then later boiled. The t'ej was delicious but I wonder if anyone has tried making a US version using beer hops and if so what hops have you used and in what quantities did you add them (Assume the basic unit is one gallon of mead). I am thinking of making a few single test gallons. Should I be looking for hops with high alphas or low alphas? The ABV will be around 13 percent and the time to ferment is about one month.
Well if you have a dig round all the forums that have mead info, I'm pretty sure you'll find examples of where others have used hops as a bittering agent. Just that with Tej, traditionally it's the Gesho herb.