Thin flat black grapes wine - how to correct?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

him24

Junior
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a new member here. Ive been making grape wine for the last 4 years and slowly learning and getting better.

Last year in March I put 2 different batches of grapes in process. In one of the batches I purposely reduced sugar, but forgot to reduce water to the same ratio. The result is that the normal sugar/water batch has come out fine, a little dry feel with fruity flavor and a lovely deep red color. But the "problem" batch is light pink in color, tastes thin and flat. Both batches have a final SG of 0.97/0.98.

Well, :) this problem has happened for the first time, so don't know how to correct it. Any pointers, tips are welcome.

thanks,
him

Welcome to the forum!

So, If I understand you, your wine is thin and flat because you diluted with too much water??

That's right, John. I loosely follow Jack Keller's recipe. In this one, I forgot to reduce water after I reduced the sugar levels. Any ideas on how to improve it?

Unfortunately, I do not think that there is much you can do. Even if you decide to blend it with another wine, you will still end up with even more wine that tastes "thin".

Here are the ingredients I put in:

14kg black grapes
2kg sugar
5 ltr water
1 and a half packet (7.5gms) Lalvin RC 212 yeast
Papaya peel

Starting SG without sugar was 1.06. Two and a half months later, SG was 0.098.