The recurring nightmare: Stuck blueberry

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rappatuz

Reaction score
Picked 10,5 kg (23 pounds) of wild blueberries this summer and tossed them in the freezer. Decided to go with 800 g berries per liter (6,7 pounds per gallon) to make a flavorful wine. I know that low pH may pose a challenge when making wine with blueberries. I'm pretty new in this game and don't own a pH meter, unfortunately. I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. Of course it got stuck ... almost immediately. Check out my log:

9/20: Mashed 10,5 kg blueberries, added 5 l water, 2,1 kg sugar and 1 g potassium metabisulfite. SG: 1,082.
9/21: Added 10 g pectin enzymes and made a starter with Mangrove Jack's R56 yeast (5 g).
9/22: Added 2 g Wyeast Beer Nutrient Blend and the starter, which was bubbling happily.
9/23-27: Berries float to the top and are pushed down once a day.
9/28: Took out bag with blueberries. After squeezing; 13 l must in the bucket. SG = 1,078.
9/30: Filtered a sample through a coffee filter and measured SG (= 1,076), just to rule out the that the reading would be (severely) skewed by floating particles in the must.
10/1: Added 6 g DAP (diammonium phosphate).
10/2: Must covered in a purple bubbly layer of "something" (see attached image). An apparent "fizz" sounding in the bucket. Still smells and tastes fresh. SG = 1,076.

There are several signs of fermentation but the SG is almost where it started after nearly two weeks. What worries me is that the batch will start spoiling when there's no alcohol to protect it.

I have several yeast strains in the fridge and will most likely make a new starter tomorrow. Any advice would be great.

Attachments

• blueberry must.JPG
    blueberry must.JPG
    3 MB · Views: 9