Taste of new wine kits.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hypno

Junior
Reaction score
So I have started a winexpert Amarone kit with skins. I have followed the instructions perfectly for the first 14days and transferred to a carboy the sg. was 0.994. I have added the sulfites, oak cubes and degassed, didn’t add any clarifiers as I plan on bulk aging. Today is day 21 and I snuck a taste. I’m new to kit making and this is my first after making wine from grapes with my Dad for years. The question I have is, after tasting the wine today I was very disappointed, it was dry which I liked but had a very bitter fruity taste and fruity aroma. not very drinkable at this stage as expected but complete different from what I have experienced with making wine from grapes. Did I mess things up or is this just the way kits are at this stage. I don’t know what to make of it, any advice?

After only 21 days it shouldn't taste great. You have dry, fruity taste and fruity aroma. Sounds ok so far. The flavor will change even after a short while aging. I would press ahead and not worry.

After only 21 days it shouldn't taste great. You have dry, fruity taste and fruity aroma. Sounds ok so far. The flavor will change even after a short while aging. I would press ahead and not worry.
I hope so, seems like a lot going on in terms of flavors + the oak but nothing really pleasant right now. Like I said this is the first kit and have never tasted a kit this early. I don’t think sanitation is an issue as I was very careful. We’ll see in about six weeks when I rack it. Fingers crosssed

We’ll see, I guess coming from traditional wine making this is all new and very different. Hopefully it turns out to be a drinkable wine.

with Amarone I would expect a year before reaching any potential